Ronald Dinan & Associates Will Fight for You
It only takes one mistake to be charged with a DUI and, because of this, many who are charged are facing their very first criminal offense. At Ronald Dinan & Associates, our trusted criminal and DUI defense representatives know how intimidating these charges can be and that, even when facing multiple DUIs, incisive and dedicated legal counsel is an absolute necessity.
Our experienced legal team has more than 150 years of experience defending the accused from criminal charges, including during countless DUI matters. We are ready to walk you through this process, protecting your rights at every turn and making sure every possible avenue in seeking a reduced sentence or dismissal is explored.
You do not have to face your DUI charge alone. Call us today to speak with a proven Marin County DUI defense lawyer.
DUI Penalties in California
Even for a first DUI offense, penalties can be serious and serious interrupt the accused lives. While jail time is not common for a first offense, fines, driving restrictions, and other consequences can have lasting effects for anyone convicted.
Penalties for a first DUI offense can include:
- Up to six months in jail
- Up to $1000 in fines
- License suspension up to 10 months
- Possible installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
Like with many other criminal charges, DUI penalties get more severe with repeat offenses. Subsequent arrests can result in:
- Second offense: up to 1 year in jail and $1800 in fines
- Third offense: up to 1 year in jail and $1800 in fines
- Fourth offense: up to 16 months in jail and $18,000 in fines
License suspensions also become lengthier for subsequent offenses and ignition interlock devices are required for every DUI offense after the first. Instances of injury, damages, and the presence of minors can also affect possible penalties. To learn more about what specific penalties your DUI charge might yield, call us at Ronald Dinan & Associates today.
There are limits to how DUI offenses can accumulate in California. Our state has a "lookback" period, which means that, after a certain amount of time, prior DUI offenses are "forgiven" and not calculated as subsequent offenses. In California, the lookback period is 10 years.
So, for instance, driver x is charged with a new DUI offense. He has had only one other charge previously, in 2002. Because the 2002 offense is more than 10 years old, it is not counted as a subsequent offense and the new charge will be considered a "first DUI" by the court.
Start Your DUI Defense Today
Do not hesitate to begin your DUI defense—call Ronald Dinan & Associates today. Whether you need to defend against a subsequent drunk driving charge or assistance during a DMV hearing, we are ready to help you put this ordeal behind you with as little penalty as possible.
4040 Civic Center Drive
San Rafael, CA, 94903
Phone: (415) 491-0223
Call us today to schedule a free consultation.