Northern California DUI Attorneys Learn Why Our Dedicated DUI and Criminal Lawyers Are Right for You

Multiple DUI Defense in Northern CA

Offices in Sonoma, Napa, Marin, Lake, Mendocino & Humboldt Counties

If you are arrested for a second, third, or subsequent DUI, the penalties will be increasingly harsher. In California, a DUI is considered a "priorable" offense, which means that each time you are convicted of another offense of the same nature, you face a tougher sentence.

Penalties for Subsequent DUIs

Listed below are some of the common California penalties for multiple DUIs.

Second DUI Offense within 10 years

  • Jail for 90 days to 1 year
  • License suspension for up to 3 years
  • Fines between $390 and $1,000
  • Alcohol or drug treatment program lasting 18 to 30 months

Third DUI Offense within 10 years

  • Jail for 120 days to 1 year
  • License suspension for up to 3 years
  • Fines up to $1,000
  • Possible treatment program for 18 to 30 months

Fourth DUI Offense within 10 years

  • Jail for between 180 days and 16 months
  • Fine of up to $1,000
  • License suspension for up to 4 years
  • Felony charge (according to California Vehicle Code §23151 VC)

The 10-Year Lookback Period

In California, your DUI convictions only count against you if they occur within 10 years of each other. This means that, for example, if you are arrested for DUIs in 2000, 2003, 2005, and 2006 and convicted of all offenses, you will be penalized for a fourth DUI offense in your 2006 arrest. If you have been convicted of DUIs in 1992, 1999, 2001, 2006, and 2013, then you can only be penalized for a second DUI offense because your first three convictions were prior to the 10-year lookback period. Simply being arrested for DUI doesn't count against you when it comes to multiple offenses, only convictions matter.

Don't hesitate to contact our Santa Rosa criminal defense lawyers at our firm for more information!