• DUI Defense

    Get Important Information on Drunk Driving

    The more you know about your rights, options, and defenses, the better your final results can be!

    Read More[+]
  • Criminal Defense

    12,000+ Criminal Cases Resolved

    Learn about the required elements of your criminal charges and be pro active in your defense

    Gain Every Advantage[+]
  • California Crimes

    About California’s Criminal Laws

    From misdemeanors to felonies, we handle all types of criminal cases under California’s Penal Code.

    Learn More[+]
  • Consultation

    To Speak to an
    Attorney, Call Today!

    We are here to help you through this process.
    Contact us today!

    Free Case Evaluation[+]

Violent Crime Defense Attorneys

Act quickly when your freedoms are at stake!

Have you been arrested for a violent crime in California? Judges and juries do not take kindly to those that have been accused of a physically harming another person. Facing these accusations means you need seasoned criminal defense. Our office proudly serves clients in the Sonoma, Napa, Marin, Lake, Mendocino and Humboldt Counties—and we can help you too.

We can represent you if you have been charged with:

Assault

Assault is described in California Penal Code §240 PC as an action that results in an application of force to another person. The prosecution must prove that you attempted to commit an act of violence and had the ability to do so, but does not actually have to prove that you actually harmed the victim.

Assault is considered a misdemeanor and typically results in:

  • Community service
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • County jail for a maximum of 6 months
  • Successful completion of a batterer's program
  • California misdemeanor probation for up to 3 years

Assault charges can be defended against by arguing self-defense or arguing complete unintentionality regarding the injury.

Assault with a Deadly Weapon

Assault with a deadly weapon is the crime also known as "aggravated assault" according to California Penal Code §245 (a)(1). An assault charge can be elevated to assault with a deadly weapon if the defendant used a weapon to produce great bodily harm or if the alleged victim is seriously injured. This is a "wobbler" crime that can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances.

Penalties for assault with a deadly weapon can include:

  • Fines of up to $10,000
  • Up to 1 year in jail or 2-4 years in state prison
  • Victim restitution
  • Weapon confiscation
  • Community service

Battery

Battery is discussed in California Penal Code §242 PC. This offense is described as using force or violence against another person. Assault discusses the intent to inflict harm, while battery discusses the actions that caused the harm.

Battery can result in the following penalties:

  • Community service
  • Batterer's program
  • $2,000 maximum fine
  • 6 months in jail
  • Informal probation

People charged with battery can normally claim consent of a victim or self-defense in their defense. Also, a defendant may be able to prove that he or she was defending others or that he or she was disciplining a child at the time of the arrest.

Aggravated Battery

Aggravated battery is the felony equivalent to battery. Normally, aggravated battery is applied when a victim is severely injured in the accident (California Penal Code §243(d)).

Aggravated battery penalties can include:

  • 1 in jail or 2-4 years in state prison
  • A $1,000-$10,000 fine
  • Informal probation
  • Strike on your record

Murder / Manslaughter

Murder is defined in California Penal Code §187(a) PC as the crime of killing a human or fetus with malice aforethought, which means that the crime is premeditated.

Murder is divided into several categories, including:

  • First-degree murder
  • Capital murder
  • Second-degree murder

Manslaughter is divided into two separate crimes:

  • Involuntary Manslaughter: According to California Penal Code §192(b) PC, involuntary manslaughter involves killing a person without malice or an intent to kill but with conscious disregard for human life.
  • Voluntary Manslaughter: Voluntary manslaughter is discussed in California Penal Code §192(a) PC as killing another person in a sudden quarrel or heat of passion. The crime is not premeditated and is done spontaneously.

We Can Represent You in Your Violent Crimes Case

If you have been charged with a violent crime, hire us to represent you in your case. We can help you to get the assistance that you need in your case and work hard to prove your innocence. We serve the residents of Sonoma County, Napa County, Marin County, Lake County, Mendocino County, and Humboldt County.

Get started with your criminal defense as soon as possible by scheduling a free evaluation!
Ronald Dinan & Associates, Attorneys & Lawyers, Santa Rosa, CA